So, I’ve always thought of myself as someone who is good at grammar, spelling and knowledgable of the English language in general. Yes, I still have a lot to learn and yes, I am still learning, but after proofreading my book at least 10 times, you’d think I’d catch a typo! Nope, I missed it and so did my proofreaders except one who is currently proofreading my second book.  She caught that “jealously” should be in fact “jealousy.”  I had an aha moment and quickly made changes to my current book and my NOW RELEASED book, “The Eyes of Alexander”.  I’ve already sold a few ebook copies but nothing that would make this a catastrophic mistake.  Fortunately, I can and did reupload my book to Amazon, Smashwords, Goodreads and Scribd and am praying that no one noticed my faux pas.  It rankles me that I made a stupid mistake like that.  However, I know it happens to the very best writers and that’s why they have others proofread their work.  So why do we not always notice typos? It all made sense to me after watching an episode of “Brain Games”. Apparently our brains SKIP OVER words.  Yes, that’s right.  That’s why after reading my book at least 10 times, I missed a simple mistake like “jealously”.  I can’t believe our brains do that! But I guess they are taking the gist of what we read and making the most sense of it in the quickest amount of time.  Anyway, lesson learned and I’ll be more careful on my current book and the next and the next…

