Tags

, , , ,

Okay, so let’s take a break from my book promotion and talk about books in general.  I’ve been reading “The Edge of Always” by JA Redmerski for weeks now.  I’m in the middle of it and can’t seem to move on.  I will eventually but I’ll take my time.  I think my problem is that I think it’s a “good” book, not a “great” one.  Her hundreds of fans may disagree with me, but that’s how I feel so far; it may change once I actually finish the book.  Her first book, “The Edge of Never” I read relatively quickly but then again it was new and refreshing and was the beginning of Camryn and Andrew’s love affair.  Now that they are a couple I’m finding it hard to navigate through this book without the excitement of conflict.  There’s conflict but it’s the way the characters deal with it that I find lackluster.  It’s the reaction to the conflict that I’m not responding to.  It’s not exciting enough for me I guess.

“Fifty Shades of Grey” was filled with conflict and excitement.  Yes, there was BDSM and sex, lots of sex which was exciting but it was the relationship between Ana and Christian that drew me in.  I loved that she wouldn’t take his crap and pushed him to be a better man.  She was expressive and emotional and he was a man broken who was used to being in control.  They both had to learn to change for the other but it wasn’t easy, they had lots of roads to take to get there.  That book for me was a can’t-put-it-down page-turner for me. There’s only been a few other books I’ve read like that.  The “Twilight” books, Sylvia Day’s Crossfire series “Entwined With You,” etc., “The Firm”, “Jurassic Park”, etc.  These are books that grab you and hold your attention.  I enjoyed “Fifty Shades Darker” but got a little bored with “Fifty Shades Freed”.  There was conflict, sure, but they were married now and I think it failed to capture the excitement of the first book.

An as author I challenge myself to not fall into the same trap.  I wrote two books and am writing the third in a series called The Eyes Trilogy, which is similar to “Fifty Shades of Grey” without the bondage.  In the third book where the two main characters would typically get married, I’m trying to spice it up with some twists to not make it not so, lah de dah they got married so now it’s boring. As an author, we always need to know our audience and challenge ourselves to write a book that not only excites us but will excite readers, too.

