Tags

, , , , , ,

So I admit I don’t blog a lot.  Is that what it takes to get comments on your blog posts? Every time I post I get several followers but no one bothers to comment.  Maybe they have nothing to say in response to my post or maybe I need to ask a question to get responses or maybe I just need to blog MORE.  I find it helpful and encouraging to get feedback to my posts.  Commenting back and forth is a great way to interact with others here.  You can develop friendships that way.  I’m guessing I just need to post more often and eventually the comments will come… if you blog, they will come, lol.  Or maybe I need to follow more people’s blogs.  I’ve blogged on another site where you would only get comments if you commented on others’ blogs.  If you scratch my itch, I’ll scratch yours… which I get but I have commented on other people’s blogs here.  Maybe I just need to do it more.

And then I start to question my followers’ motives.  If they are genuinely interested in what I have to say, great, I’m thrilled that they are following me, but if they are just following me to sell something, then I’m not down with that.  Sure I promote my book and ebay store here but I’m not following people just so they’ll follow me and buy my book or check out my store.  I only follow those who blog about things that intrigue me.  It amazes me that every time I post on Twitter, I get a few followers.  Why is that? Are they genuinely interested in what I have to say or are they following me so I’ll follow them back? I’m guessing the latter is the case in some, not all, of the instances. Okay, so I follow then back, then what? Buy their product? Listen to their music? Okay… sure, fine, but after a while it’s get a little annoying that it seems people are only interested in me for one thing–what I can do for them when I’m looking for a give and take relationship.  In the end I shouldn’t really care, right? Someone’s following me, whoo hoo.  After all is said and done it is what it is and I’ll deal.  Just thought I’d vent just a little about it since it’s kind of irked me for a while.

I guess I’m a little sensitive because I’m always hoping to make true friends on the internet and it’s a hard thing to do in the world of cyberspace.  You don’t “see” that person and “talk” to them face to face.  Sure you’re trading emails, pictures, chatting, maybe even having video chats, but it’s not the same as sitting down in a coffee shop and laughing over coffee in person, at least not to me. Or even going to a movie or taking a walk.  It has happened though… real friendships can and have taken root and sprung from the keyboard.  I have made some friends from Yahoo groups over the years whom I had wonderful IM chats with.  Me and a Canadian girl named Trish I met online used to stay up for hours at night laughing our asses off.  We used to make up captions for celebrity photos and talk about life in general.  It was so much fun.  It doesn’t happen anymore and I miss it.  She’s still awesome, we just don’t interact except for the occasional Facebook comment.  She’s the one who got me on Facebook–so, thank you, Trish!   And it was fun chatting with Kat on my days off about bands and her piercings, lol.  We still talk on FB sometimes.  I will say that I’m the one that got off IM messenger so I’d probably still be chatting with people if I hadn’t.

Don’t get me wrong, I have a lot to be thankful for.  My last boss and I struck up a friendship and I consider her a life-long friend.  I was also fortunate enough to make at least one close friend online. I met Amie on a Yahoo group six years ago… dare I mention which one? It’s a little embarrassing… it was a Backstreet Boys fan group.  We were both into then; we are not now.  She was the moderator of the group and we just clicked immediately. It started with trading fun and witty repartee online then escalated to emails, online chats, telephone calls, then actual meetings.  I went to Florida to visit her and she came to Oregon to visit me and once we met at Disneyland in Anaheim.  Every time we talk or get together we have a great time.  She has become one of my best friends and I’ll love her forever. It’s a shame we live on opposite ends of the country, but I’ll always be thankful to have met her and have had her in my life.

I’ve been searching for a best friend who lives near me for years; ever since we moved to the Portland, Oregon in 1995.  I have lots of good friends I see on occasion and have lots of close friends where I grew up in So Cal, but not a best friend who lives near me that I can hang with, laugh with and share things with.  I have my hubby and kids which is great but there’s nothing like a girlfriend… or boyfriend… I wouldn’t mind even having a guy as a bestie.  That being said, I’m very thankful for the internet and cyber communication.  It keeps me sane and in touch with the world and I can communicate with my friends who don’t live nearby.  Thanks for listening whoever you are…

