Tags

, , , , ,

Isn’t that a movie? “For The Love Of The Game” I believe is the title I’m searching for.  Obviously I’ve taken creative license with the title but you get the gist.  When you love something, you live it.

I love to write.  I thrive on it.  I’m thankful I’m good at it because my once hobby has become a way to make a living. Well, let’s be honest, I’m not making much money at it right now.  I’m not on anyone’s best seller list (that I know of) but I don’t care.  I do it because I love it not because I have to or need to. Would it be awesome to make beau coup bucks doing what I love? Well, sure and I’m promoting my current book to do just that, but in truth I’d write anyway.

I recall the line from the movie, “Sister Act II” where Whoopi Goldberg’s character says to Lauren Hill’s character, “If you can wake up in the morning and think of nothing else but singing, then you’re a singer.”  Well, that’s how I feel about writing.  It’s a part of me and without it I’m not me.

So last night instead of watching my regular Wednesday night shows, I sat down at my computer and spent hours re-writing and editing the first draft of my book and this time instead of stopping to do something else, I kept at it until I was finished.  It was close to one in the morning, but I finished! The first draft at least.  I was floating on air, filled with a deep sense of accomplishment and I actually enjoyed it! Let me clarify… as much as I love to write, I do not love to edit.  Editing can be tedious and well, tedious.  It’s boring trying to spot the typos and fragments and grammatical errors.  It’s not all that fun to delete words or change sentence structure, meaning or context either.  It’s my least favorite part but it’s also a necessary evil.  So when I flew through the last three chapters last night with relative ease, it was liberating.

So now what? I start all over again.  This 103,670 word (currently, that WILL change) novel will need to be read again and again and again and maybe yet again until I deem it perfect to be published.  Thank God for my beta readers.  They catch things that I do not.  Their eyes see things mine totally miss.  I’m grateful for them and could not live without them.  They put the shine on my otherwise tarnished product.

The exciting part is that I actually get to write again! A few months ago, I wrote several pages of the last novel of this three-part trilogy, but it’s all fragmented, in bits and pieces and I now need to fill in the blanks; make sense of A and C by inserting B.  It’s fun but also daunting.  This means that there is no room for writer’s block, uncertainty, indecision or “not being in the mood”.  I must surge forward and write and write until my fingers figuratively bleed and the words “The End” are typed for the final time.

In the words of Demi Lovato, “This Is Me” and I wouldn’t have it any other way.

