Tags

, , , ,

So I’m reading my third book in a row that is just so so.  What happened to excitement? To not being able to put a book down because you are so enthralled with the characters? I haven’t found that with my last four books . . . “The Edge Never”, “The Edge of Always”, and the current book I’m reading, “Wallbanger.”  Prior to that I’d started to read “Beautiful Bastard” and that was way too much way too fast. I’m finding these other books just the opposite:  not enough soon enough.  There has to be a happy medium, right? Maybe I’m just being picky or hard to please because these books are best sellers, but I know I can’t be the only one thinking, “eh, they’re okay” as I read them.  This current book, “Wallbanger” showed promise early on.  It’s funny and witty and well written and the characters are fun but now that the two main characters are “just friends” who show signs of interest but are not going any further with it (at this point, I know they’ll end up together eventually), I find myself, thinking, “Come on.  Really?”

Maybe it’s because I can’t relate.  When I was in the dating world, I knew by the first date if the person was going to go the distance. There was either chemistry or there wasn’t.  And if there was chemistry, I wanted to go full board, all out romantic with them.  No taking it slow, being friends first.  I’m not saying that hasn’t worked for people, I’m sure it has, it’s just that it wasn’t how I was.  The guys I was friends with were friends for a reason–there was no chemistry between us, at least on my end.  I knew a few guys who wanted more but I didn’t.  And maybe it’s better to be friends first, but for me, I dated them if I wanted them, simple as that.  With my husband, it was instant chemistry.  After our first date, I knew I would marry him and two years later we did marry.  You either know or you don’t.  I guess I just don’t understand those people who are friends for years and then suddenly chemistry sparks and they want to be more.  I don’t get it, but to each his own.

And that’s not to say I wasn’t friends with my boyfriends.  I was–we were each other’s best friend, but that was AFTER we begun dating.

Anyway, back to “Wallbanger”, I’m halfway through and finding myself wanting to speed things along to get to the part when they’re actually together.  I hope it’s not one of those books where they get together at the end.  To me that’s just too much build-up and not enough release.  Kind of reminds me of “Sleepless in Seattle”.  Don’t get me wrong, that’s one of my all-time favorite movies, but the way they got together at the very end of the movie was well, frustrating.  At least for me… and there was no sequel… It looks like there is a second book after “Wallbanger” which I’m sure chronicles the relationship of Simon and Caroline but right now with the friends thing, it’s driving me crazy.  I do have to say they are pretty darn cute though.  There is hope for this book.  I find it more interesting than “The Edge of Always” which I still haven’t finished by the way.

Well, that’s my take.  Feel free to have your own opinions.  🙂

